Spotlight keeps track of all searches made from an iPhone. While very convenient, this history can be seen by a relative or friend using your phone without your knowledge. If you want to protect your privacy, it is essential to regularly clean up Spotlight’s search history. We’ll explain how it works.

The search history in Spotlight

Do you search from your iPhone but want to keep those searches secret? Apple’s smartphone stores a lot of sensitive information including page history, web requests and downloaded applications.

Some of this information could be harmful to you if it falls into the wrong hands. Do a test by clicking on the Spotlight search bar on your iPhone. You will see a list of past searches.

In general, having a history of your queries can be very useful. You can easily find a reminder or an event in your calendar. This feature will also allow you to access with one click the last articles consulted on the web.

But this history does not have only advantages, especially if you are used to lend your phone to your children or to your spouse. You would probably like to keep some of your data private. You will find below some tips to clean your iPhone including caches and useless applications.

How to erase Spotlight search history

If you are here, it’s because you don’t want your friends and family to be able to access the last queries entered in the last weeks or even months. By following the procedure described below, you will be able to erase the search history of the Spotlight function on an iPhone or an iPad.

  1. Open the settings on your Apple phone or tablet
  2. Click on the general section
  3. Then select the Spotlight search box
  4. Click on the Siri suggestions switch to disable the feature
  5. If you have a very recent device, you will need to click on the Siri and search section on the settings home page
  6. Turn off the Siri suggestions option when searching
  7. You can also take the opportunity to clear the Siri and dictation history

That’s it. Spotlight history is now cleared. If you want this feature to continue to keep track of your searches, you will just need to re-enable Siri suggestions from the settings window of your device.